Strengthening your core seems to be one of the smartest things you can do to improve as a runner. Training with Jillian Michaels could be regarded as one of the most masochistic things you can do to attempt the feat.

I did day 1 of her 6 week 6 pack abs video tonight on what was supposed to be a rest day. Gotta love being stubborn! The video had a great intro that really made me feel like yes, I too can stick with this video 5 days a week for 6 weeks and see incredible results that will change my life!! And then it began. I was fine for the first 10 minutes, but then I knew we were both in trouble when she started breathing hard lol. If Jillian finds this workout tough then I am surely going to struggle too!

So we did a series of maybe 8 exercises back to back to simulate HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) and did the whole thing over again for round 2 before the cool down. Round 1 was doable, but Round 2 kicked my butt. It was non-stop action that had me begging for floor work to calm my heart rate (which thankfully did happen as the last two-three moves are done lying down). At the end, she made up for all of it by offering some encouraging words (I think she’s a pro at this, just watch her do it at the end of The Doctor’s show). She makes you feel like you’re on a journey to find inner peace by toning your body. And you just might be for those 30-35 minutes, because who has time to stress out about life when you’re yelling obscenities at her on the screen?

